Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
fast switching relais — Parallax Forums

fast switching relais

indigo2indigo2 Posts: 25
edited 2008-12-25 11:46 in BASIC Stamp
i want to switch whit the basic stamp a relais for 1000 V.
I want to do that realy fast, is there a switch witch can do that for me?

sory i'm a beginner in the electronics so to say, i come from a programmingbackground, so sorry for that, but still learning every day [noparse];)[/noparse]

thank you in advance

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-12-24 15:14
    Look at the Nuts and Volts Column #6 here: www.parallax.com/Resources/NutsVoltsColumns/tabid/272/Default.aspx

This discusses switching power for motors, solenoids, and relays using a Stamp and an external switching transistor or Darlington transistor array. The diagram on the last page shows the typical circuit. The details of the parts needed depend on the voltage and current being switched, but what's shown is typical for low power (6 - 15V and up to 1A).
  • indigo2indigo2 Posts: 25
    edited 2008-12-24 16:06
    so with the right transistor i'll be ok.

thank you so much for your time!!

i did had 1 year electrnics but that's a long time ago, time to find my old schoolbooks again.

thank you so much!!
    edited 2008-12-24 16:27
    those nasty negative spikes ej...lol, that's just what i'm trying to capture [noparse];)[/noparse]
  • remmi870remmi870 Posts: 79
    edited 2008-12-24 17:29