Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
spin variable types and manipulation — Parallax Forums

spin variable types and manipulation

JazzDJazzD Posts: 13
edited 2008-12-25 17:59 in Propeller 1
hi, this is my first post on these forums. im quite new to the propeller also. Im not new to microcontrollers and definately not to programming. I have some knowledge in C and it is my favourite programming language. that is where my problem begins.

About one week ago i started working with the propeller and im amazed by the technology! But im not yet amazed by SPIN. I mean i always get the stuff that i want to work but i find it kind of ugly. You have the "types" and they dont really make sense to me. Im too deep into C where variable types make like 40% of the whole biz.

Okay to get down to the point. I have a problem with string manipulation, or to say it like this im not really sure if my variable is a string hehe it just doesnt make much sense to me. I interfaced an RGM-2000 GPS receiver and it works great. To parse the NMEA code i use an object from the object exchange. Search for gps or gps vga. Basically the code is short and straight forward. It does exactly what i need, well almost.

There is this part:

VAR
long GPGGAa[noparse][[/noparse]20]

that long is filled in the readNMEA function and the time is returned here

pub time
return GPGGAa[noparse][[/noparse]0]

now in my main object i call time
and print it to my screen directly using a print function

it prints out something like that:

that means the time is 22 hours, 55 minutes and 10 seconds and some miliseconds i dont care about.

Thats great but kind of unreadable! It's almost sad to me that i have to ask for help about this. In C it would be so easy to put some ":" or whatever between the digits but i dont get the spin code. I tried to find out in the code reference and the wiki but im stuck.