Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 Pro Dev Board & LCD — Parallax Forums

BS2 Pro Dev Board & LCD

churdchurd Posts: 9
edited 2008-12-23 03:39 in BASIC Stamp
I am currently teaching an intro to programming class at the high school level, and one of my students is trying to use the lcd panel that came with the pro dev board. (HD44780-compatible LCD module) They want to display "The button is:" on the first line, and "on" or "off" depending on the state of the button.

The button is attached to an I/O pin, and the LCD panel operates fine using the LCD Demo program in the manual.

I have very little knowledge about the lcd panel and it's operation, and I was wondering if there is anyone out there that has a a program that will do something similar, that I can use as a starting point. It's a learning experience for me too! Eventually they want to hook up a temp sensor to the I/O pin, and read the temp.

Thanks in advance! Appreciate it!

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2008-12-22 16:06
    There is quite a bit of info here http://www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/BASICStampModules/tabid/134/List/1/ProductID/50/Default.aspx?txtSearch=serial+lcd&SortField=ProductName%2cProductName·and there is also examples. Print the documentation so you have it for your students.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2008-12-22 16:23
    Hello,

Depending on how your code is structured you can either refresh the LCD when the button state has changed, or you can update it in real time and provide the on/off response via conditional branch or value. Your code structure for your main program will greatly depend on how you do this because there really is more than one way to accomplish it. Take care.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Engineering
  • churdchurd Posts: 9
    edited 2008-12-22 17:52