Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is Spin Really OO? — Parallax Forums

Is Spin Really OO?

soshimososhimo Posts: 215
edited 2008-12-21 05:53 in Propeller 1
I'm just learning spin and I really like that it's very readable yet seems very close "to the metal" as it were. Not something you see much in higher level languages which tend to abstract a lot of basic functionality. My primary occupation is an embedded systems programmer so I'm always looking for ways to make life easier when talking to hardware and spin is looking more and more like that solution. Here is my question, not being too versed in spin yet (just started learning a week ago), what kind of OOP concepts does spin actually support? I'll go ahead and list some of the more common ones and the ones that I feel make an OO language strong.

Objects - A pattern (exemplar) of a class.
Methods - An object's abilities. In language, methods (sometimes referred to as "functions") are verbs.
Message passing - The process by which an object sends data to another object or asks the other object to invoke a method. Also known to some programming languages as interfacing.
Inheritance - 'Subclasses' are more specialized versions of a class, which inherit attributes and behaviors from their parent classes, and can introduce their own.
Abstraction - Abstraction is simplifying complex reality by modelling classes appropriate to the problem, and working at the most appropriate level of inheritance for a given aspect of the problem.
Encapsulation - Encapsulation conceals the functional details of a class from objects that send messages to it.
Polymorphism - Polymorphism allows the programmer to treat derived class members just like their parent class' members. More precisely, Polymorphism in object-oriented programming is the ability of objects belonging to different data types to respond to method calls of methods of the same name, each one according to an appropriate type-specific behavior.