Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Buttons, LCD, and LEDs — Parallax Forums

Buttons, LCD, and LEDs

cool1100cool1100 Posts: 2
edited 2008-12-18 03:20 in BASIC Stamp
First I would like to say hi to everyone, I'm Jim and have been lurking on this site for months. The information provided by PARALLAX and the members of this forum is just awesome.... Now for my problem, This project seems a little pointless but I'm just learning and thought this would be fun to try. I'm trying to make the LCD screen go blank and the back light go off after the button is released, but while the button is pressed the LCD flickers off and on. When I remove the "LCD clear and back light off" line the project works by showing me what button is being pressed with the back light on all the time. Any help would be great, thanks.

' PDB - TestButtonsAndLCD.bs2

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

DEBUG "BUTTON STATES", CR,
" 0 1 2 4", CR,
"

"

DO
DEBUG CRSRXY, 0, 3,
"B0 = ", BIN1 IN12,
" B1 = ", BIN1 IN13,
" B2 = ", BIN1 IN14,
" B3 = ", BIN1 IN15
PAUSE 50

IF (IN12 = 0) THEN
HIGH 0
SEROUT 8, 84, [noparse][[/noparse]22, 12, 17]
PAUSE 5
SEROUT 8, 84, [noparse][[/noparse]"B0 is PRESSED!!"]
ELSE
LOW 0
'SEROUT 8, 84, [noparse][[/noparse]21, 18]
ENDIF

IF (IN13 = 0) THEN
HIGH 1
PAUSE 5
SEROUT 8, 84, [noparse][[/noparse]"B1 is PRESSED!!"]
ELSE
LOW 1
ENDIF

IF (IN14 = 0) THEN
HIGH 2
PAUSE 5
SEROUT 8, 84, [noparse][[/noparse]"B2 is PRESSED!!"]
ELSE
LOW 2
ENDIF

IF (IN15 = 0) THEN
HIGH 3
PAUSE 5
SEROUT 8, 84, [noparse][[/noparse]"B3 is PRESSED!!"]
ELSE
LOW 3
ENDIF

LOOP

Comments

• UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2008-12-17 06:18