Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie needs help on parts. — Parallax Forums

Newbie needs help on parts.

eminememinem Posts: 8
edited 2008-12-27 03:19 in BASIC Stamp
im building an electric vehicle that is supposed to travel a straight path from A to B. since distance isnt given to me, i want to be able to simply reprogram a set distance for my needs. the vehicle is traveling on a flat surface btw.

i want to know, what do i need to buy for programming and rotating wheel+stopping with a time/distance interval?

im a noob i have no clue as to the technical jargon. i have no experience with robotics/basic stamp... i did however took some vbasic a few years back. thanks for any help.

Comments

• $WMc%$WMc% Posts: 1,884
    edited 2008-12-15 23:43
    emimem

Take a look at StampWorks experiment #26 and #27. This can be found on the Parallax web site

_______________________$WMc%____________Merry Xmas

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    The Truth is out there
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2008-12-16 00:53
    It will probably depend on your platform. If you have something already, then you'll have to fit the electronics to your platform. If so, post a picture or diagram for more help. If you don't have a platform, then you will probably want to make one. Since you don't need steering, a fixed set of four wheels would be the most accurate for the straight part, and wheel encoders would give you distance. It would help if you can go slow to reduce wheel slip.
  • eminememinem Posts: 8
    edited 2008-12-16 01:25
    SRLM said...