Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Puzzle — Parallax Forums

Puzzle

Link774Link774 Posts: 5
edited 2008-12-15 06:20 in BASIC Stamp
Hi folks,

I came across an interesting puzzle on·LambdaMOO a while back (text based game, telnet to lambda.moo.mud.org:8888) and wanted to try to reproduce it using a microcontroller. I am completely new to microcontrollers, so I was wondering if you could provide any guidance on what I need to get this done.

Here's the description of what the puzzle looks like:
"The mind bender has a display showing four words, and underneath each word is a knob. You can push, pull, twist, or smack each knob, altering the display. The goal is to make it read 'one true beautiful poem'."

The maximum length for each of the four words is 8, 10, 13, and 13, so including spaces I'd need a display that can show 47 characters (ideally on a single line). The 4x20 Serial LCD looks pretty good, I guess I could put each word on its own line and arrange the knobs along the side.

The knobs I'll probably have to build, since I doubt there is any kind of switch that fits that characteristic. Each knob is like 4 switches/buttons, so I guess I'll need a total of 16 i/o ports plus a serial output for the display.

So I'm thinking the 4x20 display and one of the Basic Stamp starter kits (which?). What do you think? Let me know if you need any more info

Thanks!
Link774

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-12-12 22:55