Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
tank tread base for robot. — Parallax Forums

tank tread base for robot.

totcohandtotcohand Posts: 28
edited 2010-09-17 18:37 in Robotics
I am just looking to see if anybody has used this for a robot application. http://www.robotmarketplace.com/products/AB-70108.html

I imagine I would just use the power supply that comes with it, and then how do I hardwire it into my bs2. I have the homework board. As im sure you can tell, I am very new to this and would appreciate the help.
Also, if anyone has any suggestions of another base with treads that is relatively cheap.
Thanks!

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2008-12-11 20:24
    Please note that this platform cannot be skid-steered as it comes. The single motor does not allow for independent control of the two tank treads, though it seems they sell the dual-unit a little lower on the page. Take care.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Engineering
  • totcohandtotcohand Posts: 28
    edited 2008-12-11 21:59
    Thanks I saw that and would order the dual-gearbox also. I guess my question is that if there would be a signal wire coming from the gearbox that I could plug into my BS2 homework board, or how could I control the steering.
  • UghaUgha Posts: 543
    edited 2008-12-11 22:40
    I have the dual gearbox and its just two motors plugged into a configurable gear set.
    It's quite nice and the motors are very small and powerful.

I'm interested in that tank tread base and may end up getting it in a couple months. I'll let you know if I do.

In order to hook it to a BS2 you'll need an H-bridge. Usually these come in dual packages that will let you hook
    up two motors at once so it works out good.

It'll take 2-3 (depending on how the h-bridge is configured) stamp pins per motor and the h-bridge will easily fit on
    the breadboard on the BOE or homework board.