Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Environmental susceptibility of ping sensor — Parallax Forums

Environmental susceptibility of ping sensor

Carl HayesCarl Hayes Posts: 841
edited 2008-12-14 05:13 in BASIC Stamp
I'm idly considering the Parallax ping sensor as a means of gauging the fresh-water tank in my motor home.· I'd cut a couple holes in the top of the tank, install the sensor, and use a Stamp to gauge how much water is in the tank.

I have no experience with that sensor, and have never seen one.· How robust would it be at the top of a polyethylene water tank?· Is it waterproof?· If not, can it work through, say, a thin membrane such as Glad Wrap?· I'd welcome anyone's experience.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
· -- Carl, nn5i@arrl.net

Post Edited (Carl Hayes) : 12/11/2008 6:30:43 PM GMT

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2008-12-12 03:57
    This has been discussed here before. There should be hits if you use the google search on the parallax home page. The answer to both your questions is not likely.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Carl HayesCarl Hayes Posts: 841
    edited 2008-12-12 04:38
    Thanks, I think. I can keep it dry, and I wonder if anyone -- who actually knows -- can answer whether it will work through a membrane such as Glad Wrap, stretched taut. Would anyone who has a Ping be willing to stretch a piece of Glad Wrap across the front of the thing, and run an experiment to find out?· I need only about two feet of range.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    · -- Carl, nn5i@arrl.net
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2008-12-12 04:50
    www.google.com/search?hl=en&rls=com.microsoft%3A*&q=site%3Aparallax.com+waterproof+ping

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
    edited 2008-12-12 15:10