Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ADC0808 and propeller — Parallax Forums

ADC0808 and propeller

Scott LewisScott Lewis Posts: 18
edited 2008-12-11 23:11 in Propeller 1
I didn't find any programs for this chip, so I wrote my own. I am new to writing programs for propeller, so I probably did a bunch of stuff not the best way [noparse];)[/noparse].

A little about the program, it uses it's own cog to take conversions constantly. I got about a 9 kHz sample rate in the lab, which is close to the 10 kHz from the datasheet.

I would appreciate feedback about improving my program to make it faster and more efficient. I know I could have used a loop but I needed to do special stuff for input 0, and I had trouble getting it to work with a loop, grr I hate programming, I'm EE not CPE [noparse]:([/noparse]. Here is the program and the datasheet for the 0808

Comments

• Scott LewisScott Lewis Posts: 18
    edited 2008-12-11 03:35
    bump, would like some feedback
  • TJHJTJHJ Posts: 243
    edited 2008-12-11 05:21
    I've ordered one to give it a try, but just glancing over the code, the only suggestion is to change to the data routine so that you don't have dump extra bytes into the get routine if you are not using all the channels.

Recently I learned that routine passing sucks up stack space, and in a stack limited program, passing 8 variables plus the routine jump for 3, could be hard on it.

My suggestions feel free to ignore.

VAR
      byte data[noparse][[/noparse]8]
      byte cog
      long stack[noparse][[/noparse]32]        

PUB get(Channel)
    {{Returns the data of the data channel requested.  Channels 0 - 7}}
      return data[noparse][[/noparse]channel]

PRI convert
    {{makes conversions as fast as possible and stores 8 bit result in data}}

dira[noparse][[/noparse]CMUXC..AMUXA]~~                      'pin I/O declarations
      dira[noparse][[/noparse]ALE]~~
      dira[noparse][[/noparse]START]~~
      dira[noparse][[/noparse]OE]~~