Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hi help with simple dc 12 volt toy motor control — Parallax Forums

Hi help with simple dc 12 volt toy motor control

mikedivmikediv Posts: 825
edited 2008-12-12 00:37 in Propeller 1
Hi guys I love this forum lots of smart people , I am brand new to the prop and was wondering I have a few toy 12 volt dc motors
I wanted to interface one to the prop ed board and be able to control it speed it up or slow it down but the hard part is I want to display the RPM or voltage as it speeds up or slows down is there anyone that has somehting like this I can look at for idea software/hardware, I did it with a basic stamp but this is a whole new ball game thanks I also have the hydra board if that would be easier to use
Oh and maybe one quick question I bought the add ons for the prop educational board I have the prop project parts kit #130-32000
there is a round part in the bag and it has a sticker on it its round the size of a dime and the sticker says wash before removing does anyone know what the heck it is?
·

Comments

• Andrew E MileskiAndrew E Mileski Posts: 77
    edited 2008-12-09 22:18
    The motor's commutator causes a pulse whenever it breaks contact. These pulses can be monitored on the power leads, though one needs to know how many poles the motor has to use as a divisor for a full revolution.

For example, this is used in the Microchip TC670 Fan Alert Monitor, as well as brushless motor controllers (though they also have to figure out motor direction).

Something to Google on or start with at least smilewinkgrin.gif
  • GeorgeCollinsGeorgeCollins Posts: 132
    edited 2008-12-09 22:49
    I have had good luck with hobby motor controllers such as:

http://www.servocity.com/html/c-7_speed_control.html

(although this one might not be able to handle as much power as you want, you can find a huge range available)