Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
help for starting propeller with Parallax 433 MHz RF Transmitter and GPS — Parallax Forums

help for starting propeller with Parallax 433 MHz RF Transmitter and GPS

skybotskybot Posts: 14
edited 2008-12-10 10:52 in Propeller 1
Hi all,
I am a beginner for spin code and I am just starting to learn spin code.
What I want to do for my learning is·that reading GPS values and sending the GPS values to my pc via a 433 RF transmitter.
I have spin code sample for GPS but I do not have a code for the 433 RF Tx.
Does anyone know·a link to get the spin code for 433 RF Tx or have a sample spin code for 433 RF Tx?
Does anyone know how to capture·the live streams GPS data and pack data to Tx packet with spin code?
Please help me out.
Thank you.··
·

Comments

• LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2008-12-09 11:01
    Most of those 433 MHz units aren't all that suitable for sending data like that. It can be done, but it's complicated. You'd be better off with something using the 2.4 GHz Nordic RF nRF24L01 or the TI CC2500.

Leon

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
    Suzuki SV1000S motorcycle
  • sylvie369sylvie369 Posts: 1,622
    edited 2008-12-09 11:38
    Hmm. I don't think it's all that complicated. Are you thinking about some odd non-Parallax 433 units? I assume he's talking about the sets that Parallax sells (which happen to be the daily deal...).

There are a lot of things to send, but they're just bytes of data, and for the majority of GPS units, you're only getting one set of data per second. I put together a GPS/Parallax 433 transmitter on a BS2 stamp and a receiver with an LCD on a standard BS2 Homework Board last year, and it worked fine.

skybot said...
    Does anyone know how to capture the live streams GPS data and pack data to Tx packet with spin code?