Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to make a servo motor out of 12 volt dc scooter motors & control the motor' — Parallax Forums

How to make a servo motor out of 12 volt dc scooter motors & control the motor'

simpsonmichael1simpsonmichael1 Posts: 13
edited 2008-12-13 05:42 in BASIC Stamp
Good Evening All,

I am new to using the basic stamp. I have two 12 volt DC forward/reverse capable scooter motors. I want to covert these two motors into a larger version of a servo motor. The motors have only two wires, a positive and negative wire. This means I need to build a circuit to interface with the basic stamp microprocessor and error control circuit for the motor. I searched on the web for internal servo schematics, but all I've seen are schematics for servo controllers, which I do not need. I need to know how average servo motors are wired internally. Can anyone help me out on this one? Please advise.

//signed//
Mike Simpson
simpsonmichael1@hotmail.com

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-12-04 04:22
    You need what's called an H-bridge to control the motor itself. You might look at some of the DC motor controllers that Parallax sells. They sell their own design (HB-25) which looks like a servo to the Stamp (or other microcontroller). Parallax also sells DC motor controllers from Pololu which interface to the Stamp over a serial connection. Look at the documentation on Parallax's website (or Pololu's) for details.

Standard servos have a potentiometer on the motor shaft that provides position feedback either to an analog control circuit or, in newer "digital" servos, to a special purpose microcontroller that feeds an H-bridge or similar circuit to actually drive the motor. Have a look at the Wikipedia for articles on servos and R/C Servos.
  • Carl HayesCarl Hayes Posts: 841
    edited 2008-12-04 04:54