Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Trying to decide which chip to use — Parallax Forums

Trying to decide which chip to use

Project5kProject5k Posts: 58
edited 2008-12-08 20:28 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all, nOOb here.. hehehe

I'm considering using a stamp chip in a project i'm working on.· Basically it would be a differential temperature controller for a solar water heater.

The basic idea is that there will be·5 temperature sensors, 2 in group "A", 2 in group "B", and the 5th will be outside on the actuall solar collector(long wires).· Group "A" will be the input and output of the solar side of a heat exchanger, and group "B" will be the input and output on·the storage side.

There will also be 2 pump control outputs.. I havent decided yet if these should be just on and off, or if they will be PWM outputs to controll the speed, i'm thinking for now that a simple on and off will work.

I would also like to have a display attached.· Perhaps to display things like temps and pump status.

The other thing that i had considered, I have a spare computer that i could leave on all the time, so i was thinking, would it be possible to use the stamp to output its data from the 5 sensors, and the pump status out to a spreadsheet or data file or something that i could use to track it all.

The basic logic is that if the solar side is hotter than the storage side, then turn on the pumps so that the solar energy is stored in the storage tank.· A few safteys will have to be in place, things like, if the collector temp is below 33F then run the outside pump to keep it from freezing.· If the storage side is hotter than 180f, then dont run both pumps unless the solar collector side is less than 180F.

My big question is, which chip to use.. which display to use, and does any one have suggestions on what sensors to use to try and measure the tempature of water inside a copper pipe?