Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
DO LOOP Doesn't LOOP — Parallax Forums

DO LOOP Doesn't LOOP

CpuguruCpuguru Posts: 3
edited 2008-12-01 06:48 in BASIC Stamp
Weird problem - my son and I are going through the Robotics with the Boe-Bot manual and in Chapter 2, Pg 45, the very simple program says to:

' Robotics with the Boe-Bot - HelloOnceEverySecond.bs2
' Display a message every second

' {$STAMP BS2}
' ($PBASIC 2.5}

DO
· DEBUG "Hello!", CR
· PAUSE 1000
LOOP


However, the program doesn't loop.· It prints "Hello!" once and then stops.· It doesn't continue printing "Hello!" every second like one would expect.

This is running against a Basic Stamp 2 v 1.0.

I've triple checked the syntax and it SHOULD work.

Any thoughts as to why we're getting stumped so soon into the chapter ;?)

Thx,

Doug

·

Comments

  • CpuguruCpuguru Posts: 3
    edited 2008-12-01 01:40
    Interestingly, if I click on the 2.5 icon, which re-inserts the ' {$PBASIC 2.5} line in the program and then delete it, the program runs as expected.
  • UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2008-12-01 01:53
    Hi, ther is a typo in your original code,

    ·($PBASIC 2.5}

    Jeff T.
  • CpuguruCpuguru Posts: 3
    edited 2008-12-01 01:57
    Darned if I don't - thanks Unsoundcode!

    I can't believe I did a boneheaded typo that soon into the manual turn.gif .

    Doug
  • UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2008-12-01 02:00
    Most do it, there is a typo in my last post LOL

    ther

    Jeff T.
  • GeorgeLGeorgeL Posts: 131
    edited 2008-12-01 05:36
    Its ok, I sometimes forget to plugin the serial cable, and then debug for hours, realizing it wasnt connected.... [noparse]:)[/noparse]
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2008-12-01 06:48
    How do you manage that? Do you not use the terminal and DEBUG statements?
Sign In or Register to comment.