Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
communication between 2 microcontrollers — Parallax Forums

communication between 2 microcontrollers

Angelo BernardiAngelo Bernardi Posts: 7
edited 2008-12-01 00:41 in BASIC Stamp
Hey you all.
This is my first project and I'm having some trouble communicating 2 BasicStamp2 Chips.

I need to make an automated traffic signal that read the time from another microcontroller (ideally a DS1302, but I only have another BS2)
the fact is that the serial communication with the PC works just fine, no problem, but when I try to communicate both BS2 it doesn't work.

this is the problematic part of the code:
traffic sign BS2:
Horas:
    'SEROUT 16, 16468, [noparse][[/noparse]CR,"ingrese hora"]
    SERIN 16, 16468, 1000, Horas, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC4 hora]  'comunicacion con PC
    'SERIN 0, 16468, 1000, Horas, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC4 hora]  'comunicacion con reloj
    IF hora>(programa(0)*10)-1 AND hora<programa(1)*10 THEN 'ciclo peak 1
        FOR contador = 12 TO 17
            READ contador,tiempos(contador)
        NEXT
        GOSUB Ciclo
    ELSEIF hora>(programa(2)*10)-1 AND hora<programa(3)*10 THEN  'ciclo peak 2
        FOR contador = 6 TO 11
        NEXT
        GOSUB Ciclo
    ELSEIF hora>(programa(4)*10)-1 AND hora<programa(5)*10 THEN  'ciclo peak 3
        FOR contador = 6 TO 11
        NEXT
        GOSUB Ciclo
    ELSE 'sino entra en un ciclo peak, sigue en el ciclo normal
        FOR contador = 0 TO 5
        NEXT
        GOSUB Ciclo
    ENDIF
RETURN

and the clock:
Main:
    DO
         SEROUT 0, 16468, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC4 tiempo]  'implementacion final
         'SEROUT 16, 16468, [noparse][[/noparse]CLS, DEC4 tiempo, DEC2 segundos, CR] 'para efectos de debug
         TOGGLE LED
         PAUSE 483
         SEROUT 0, 16468, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC4 tiempo]  'implementacion final
         'SEROUT 16, 16468, [noparse][[/noparse]CLS, DEC4 tiempo, DEC2 segundos, CR] 'para efectos de debug
         segundos = segundos + 1