Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Working with the Micromega uM-FPU V3.1 — Parallax Forums

Working with the Micromega uM-FPU V3.1

shanghai_foolshanghai_fool Posts: 149
edited 2008-12-05 14:55 in Propeller 1
Hello all,

I am fairly new to the Propeller as only having one for about 2 weeks. I have managed to drive several devices with parts of code from the OBEX and now I have come to the FPU which is also new to me. I have some experience with Intel assembly, basic and very little "C". I am still getting used to the subtleties of SPIN and new asm terms. Both seem straight forward.

I have managed to get a couple of the demo routines working with the propeller.

With a great deal of help from I.K

Comments

• shanghai_foolshanghai_fool Posts: 149
    edited 2008-11-28 06:27
    Given that most all the newer commercial hand held GPS units give much more information than you get from a simple module, I would like to program the FPU to give the following functions:
    1 - Distance and bearing from current position to a fixed position (waypoint)
    2 - Current position cross track error from start point to dest point.
    3 - Time to waypoint given current (GPS) speed.
    I have the formulas but I am not sure where/how to place them in FPU.
    There are 2 storage areas. Flash and EEPROM. The flash can only be programed though the SERIN of the FPU. The EEPROM can only be programed through the SPI/I2C (Propeller). The flash has 2k and the EE has 1k.
    My plan is to put the Propeller and FPU on PCB and I am not sure of the best method of programing the FPU. Since the FPU routines will be running on its own cog, I could use Beau's idea and possibly split the SERIN to 2 different pins:
    PUB SoftwareBuffer
        DIRA[noparse][[/noparse]Bpin1]~~                                       'Make BPin1 an Output
        DIRA[noparse][[/noparse]Bpin2]~~                                       'Make BPin2 an Output