Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
HYDRA forums: Expanded Propeller Gaming Focus — Parallax Forums

HYDRA forums: Expanded Propeller Gaming Focus

Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
edited 2008-11-26 18:32 in Propeller 1
If you don't make it a habit to visit the HYDRA forums
it's focus has been expanded to include game designers working on various Propeller platforms.
(Thank you Ken for making this adjustment!)

There are three games in process right now, others who have started and could use a little encouragement.. [noparse];)[/noparse]

Ever want to write a game? No experience.. Bah.. I've never done this before and I'm working on my second.

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
New to the Propeller?

Getting started with a Propeller Protoboard?
Check out: Introduction to the Proboard & Propeller Cookbook 1.4
Updates to the Cookbook are now posted to: Propeller.warrantyvoid.us
Got an SD card connected? - PropDOS

Comments

• BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2008-11-25 15:45
    I've got the book (recently) and a couple of propeller boards (demo and proto) but no hydra. How easy are the games to port to a different platform?

Another question I've had is I don't have (nor have access to) anything resembling a Nintendo controller, however I have a couple of PS2 controllers (and have written interface objects to them). Without getting into the game code, how easy would it be to adapt Hydra games to the hardware I have?

The book has been fantastic (excepting that within 15 minutes of removing it from its UPS box the cover fell off), but I've not really had time to look at the games source yet.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Cardinal Fang! Fetch the comfy chair.
  • Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2008-11-25 16:06
    The big changes between a "typical" protoboard/demoboard setup are the video/audio
    connections. The Hydra uses 24 for start of video, and 7 for audio, while many protoboard/demoboard