Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Single-Chip Solution?? — Parallax Forums

Single-Chip Solution??

SvengaliSvengali Posts: 6
edited 2008-11-23 15:24 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to the BS. I currently have BS Rev D (1993 ) ·board that I'm playing with. It is a neat system and an easy way to learn MCU programming. The BS is ideal for most of my apps as·I usually don't need a lot of extra I/O. I would like to use this chip in more of my applications; however the problem that I have with it is that it is a two-chip solution since it does not have on-chip flash memory. I would like to be able to program the mcu and just plug it in my application. Is there such a Parallax solution?
·
Sven
·

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2008-11-22 10:33
    Sven -

I know of no way that the EEPROM can be eliminated from any Parallax PBASIC STAMP configuration. It's inherent in the system design that a EEPROM be there. I suppose some future product might have on-board flash memory, but not at the present time.

Regards,

Bruce Bates

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    When all else fails, try inserting a new battery.
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2008-11-22 13:57
    "Two chip"? Any processor you're going to use has a resonator/oscillator, probably a linear regulator of some description, some interface hardware to program it. The BS2 flavors add a brown-out reset detector.

However, the BS2 DOES come in a single 24-pin wide-DIP form-factor, is that good enough?\

Having said that, check out the SX48 family -- Parallax sells that, and that IS a "one-chip" processor with on-chip flash memory. You'll still have to add an oscillator, though. Or, just buy the $10 SX48 board. You'll need the $100 development system to prototype with, though.
  • CapdiamontCapdiamont Posts: 218
    edited 2008-11-22 15:34