Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
thermal imaging camera and propeller ? — Parallax Forums

thermal imaging camera and propeller ?

nemesiswesnemesiswes Posts: 17
edited 2008-11-20 09:54 in Propeller 1
hey i have an idea that requires me to get input from a·thermal imaging camera like this one http://www.goinfrared.com/cameras/Automation/thermovision-a20m-infraredcamera-researcher·and use the input in the propeller. would it be possible to link the two?· the site says the camera has C++/Visual Basic Support and i was wondering if the propeller can use c++ or visual basic ?

i am somewhat new to the propeller and microcontrollers in general and so i need help?

thanks for any help at all, later

Comments

• Graham StablerGraham Stabler Posts: 2,510
    edited 2008-11-20 09:23
    Have you checked the price of those cameras?

They use firewire as an interface so would be with a PC. The C++/Visual basic refers to a software development kit used on the PC.

I don't think the propeller would be suitable for interfacing not least because of limited memory.

Graham
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2008-11-20 09:54
    They actually do three versions. Firewire/Ethernet/Composite. You *might* be able to do something with a composite output if you put some form of external frame grabber together but the likelihood of being able to do any form of accurate measurement is very small. They specify a 16 bit grabber resolution which is bluntly, bloody difficult to do at the best of times.

Would be a fun toy to play with. The ~$400 USD per month lease is a bit spendy for me though.
    Frankly if you can afford to buy one of those beasites you should really be able to afford a little processor PC to bolt behind it.