Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Audio over serial connection — Parallax Forums

Audio over serial connection

GaryTGaryT Posts: 11
edited 2008-11-19 17:14 in Propeller 1
Hello all, I'm not an electronics expert and I'm very new to the Propeller, but I have been using Stamps for a while.
I'm wondering if there is a way, and hopefully and example, of how to take microphone-in data and stream it in a normal serial fashion to another Propeller chip's headphone-out pin? I've been playing with some of the microphone examples and the Demo board like microphone_to_VGA (which is pretty cool) and microphone_to_headphones and it seems like it's possible, any pointers?

Thanks,
Gary

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-11-17 01:06
    It's certainly possible over short distances (because of the data rate needed). You'd need to rewrite the microphone_to_headphones routine to put samples in a buffer which would be processed by a half-duplex version of the FullDuplexSerial driver that you'd have to write using the existing one as a model. Similarly, you'd need the receive end of the FullDuplexSerial driver reading into a buffer that would be processed by the output side of the microphone_to_headphones routine at a fixed rate.
  • Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2008-11-17 01:09
    I am amongst other things doing a bit with audio recording, transmission, and playback at present although I am relying on an external codec for the HQ audio. Can I suggest that for starters you take the microphone_to_VGA demo and modify it just a little to also save the current sample to a hub variable which can be read by a modified FullDuplexSerial object to output samples as groups of bytes. Of course there are better objects for high-speed serial but you should be able to start with this.

So:
    microphone_to_VGA writes sample to a hub variable "adcsample"