Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Fly-by-wire gas pedal — Parallax Forums

Fly-by-wire gas pedal

Shack_in_kyShack_in_ky Posts: 2
edited 2008-11-13 18:44 in BASIC Stamp
I have a tug that is used in off-the-road applications.· It has a "K" car carbed engine.· I'm looking at making a fly-by-wire gas pedal for it.· The tug is used so frequently that I've had continued problems with the linkage between the existing pedal and the carb.· The electronics would solve my problem.· This project is in the planning stages.· So far, I'm thinking of using the stamp and a pot for the brains and a hobby servo for the actuator.· I'll also add an e-stop for those "just in case" voices in my head.· I'm just a novice at the stamp so I'm looking for some advice from the more experienced.· Any thoughts or similar projects?

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2008-11-12 15:40
    If you decide to use the servo, make sure that it has enough torque to do the job. Otherwise, you may find that it gets stuck. Also, it should probably be mechanically set to turn off(by a spring maybe) whenever electic power is lost.
  • Carl HayesCarl Hayes Posts: 841
    edited 2008-11-12 15:41
    Me, I'd see what I could do about improving the mechanical linkage. A high-quality Bowden cable between pedal and carb would be extremely reliable and easy to adjust.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    · -- Carl, nn5i
  • Shack_in_kyShack_in_ky Posts: 2
    edited 2008-11-12 20:39
    SRLM said...
    If you decide to use the servo, make sure that it has enough torque to do the job. Otherwise, you may find that it gets stuck. Also, it should probably be mechanically set to turn off(by a spring maybe) whenever electic power is lost.
    Excellent points.· I've thought about both of these too.· The servo is rated at 47 oz-in.· Not alot of torque to play with.· The mechanical closing spring will need to be small.· Do you know of a cheap servo that easily interfaces to the stamp that has more torque?