Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How would I wire a B1 to a BS2...? — Parallax Forums

How would I wire a B1 to a BS2...?

NewAgeServerNewAgeServer Posts: 18
edited 2008-11-14 21:33 in BASIC Stamp
Here's my dilemma. I will have a device that will be at one end of a 2-wire cable. It has to be 2-wire, no more, no less. This device will contain a BS1. At the other end of the cable will be a BS2. The BS1 needs to transmit data to the BS2 so the BS2 can log it. I know I can use VDD, VSS and Data, but it needs to be two wires. How would I do this?

| Device |----------------------------| Basic Stamp 2 |
|........|----------------------------|...............|

That's what it must be.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I'm not new at basic stamp, but i am new at the LCD AppMod

Post Edited (NewAgeServer) : 11/11/2008 4:28:02 PM GMT

Comments

• Farmer ScottFarmer Scott Posts: 30
    edited 2008-11-11 04:48
    Write an I2C-like protocol to communicate between the two.· I've done that (using different timings and triggers) to put together a multi-device data bus that's about 100m long.
  • Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,563
    edited 2008-11-11 05:12
    NewAgeServer

In the future please try to use a descriptive subject for your posts. "How would I...?" doesn’t convey what you need help with. This will often limit potential useful responses as those who can help may never see your message.

By your request do you mean that you ONLY have two wires to work with? ... At what speed do you need to communicate?· ... What current demands are required of the BS1 and connecting circuitry?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Beau Schwabe

IC Layout Engineer
    Parallax, Inc.
  • metron9metron9 Posts: 1,100
    edited 2008-11-11 06:09
    Another question is how long is the cable and do both devices have their own power supply or are you using the two wires to also provide power to one of the devices.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Think Inside the box first and if that doesn't work..