Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Really dumb newbie questions — Parallax Forums

Really dumb newbie questions

patchespatches Posts: 15
edited 2008-11-19 22:17 in BASIC Stamp
Sorry for the stupid newbie questions… I’ve tried to figure these on my own out but haven’t been successful.

I’m building a temperature controlled door opener as my first project. I have a sunroom that gets quite hot in the winter for a few hours while I’m at work. My project will open an interior door from the sunroom to my house when the sunroom is hotter than the house, then close it again when the sunroom cools down in the late afternoon. Pretty fun, and I think I can knock 25% off my heating bill (got to love a project that pays for itself in a year!).

I’m prototyping with a BOE, but intend to build the final project on a super carrier board. My questions are mostly mechanical. I’ve never worked with electronics before, so I’m unfamiliar with the physical properties of the devices.

Question 1: What is the pitch spacing on the prototyping area of the board? Is it 2.5mm or 0.100” (2.54 mm)?

Question 2: I need to connect two temp sensors to the board. I’d like to make them detachable. They will each be three wires. Parallax sells a “3 pin single row header (long)” on their store under Components > Wire/Connections, but it looks like its for a breadboard, not solder-in. What is a good solder-on connector system? Digikey has 200+ pages of connectors, it was a little overwhelming.

Question 3: For temp sensing, I’m using LM34 sensors connected as described in the 7th post on this page by Tracy Allen (works like a champ – the logic is relative so I don’t need to know actual temp values, just relative ones). Ideally the leads to one of the sensors would be 20 feet long. Is this realistic or the resistance too high? Also what size wire would be used for this?

Question 4: When you finish a project, where do you buy a case/box to mount it in?

Sorry for the dumb questions.

Comments