Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Gosub to a variable ? — Parallax Forums

Gosub to a variable ?

Don MooreDon Moore Posts: 4
edited 2008-11-09 07:28 in BASIC Stamp
I'm very new to programming in for the BS2 and have run into a problem. I'm trying to use the GOSUB command but instead of an "address label" I'm trying to get it to read the value of a variable as the address label, and I'm getting an error. "Expected a label"

I'm trying to use it to look up a value to draw with a 7 LED display POV wheel.

I know there's an easier way to do it but the concept is below:

If I can't do it this way, is there a way to pipe my LOOKUP output into the GOSUB command directly instead of a variable (like is done with the OUTH after the lookup for a 7-seg LED)?

Thank you in advance.

~Don

displaychar        VAR      Byte                ' Letter to be drawn 

DO

FOR counter = 0 TO 6
    LOOKUP counter, [noparse][[/noparse] "A", "B", "C", "D", "E", "F", "G" ], displaychar       ' I'm just using this as test data.  Later it will be READ from a DATA string, which I'll want to be able to edit for various messages.
    GOSUB [color=#990000][b]displaychar[/b][/color]
    PAUSE 10
NEXT

LOOP

A:
OUTH = %0011111
OUTH = %0100100
OUTH = %1000100
OUTH = %0100100
OUTH = %0011111
RETURN
G:
OUTH = %0111110
OUTH = %1000001
OUTH = %1001001
OUTH = %1001001
OUTH = %0111010
RETURN

Comments

• Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,563
    edited 2008-11-09 05:40
    Don Moore,

Check out the ON... GOSUB function...

Syntax: ON Offset GOTO Address1, Address2, ...AddressN

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Beau Schwabe

IC Layout Engineer
    Parallax, Inc.
  • Carl HayesCarl Hayes Posts: 841
    edited 2008-11-09 05:52