Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Converting baud rate — Parallax Forums

Converting baud rate

Another FNGAnother FNG Posts: 3
edited 2008-11-09 21:05 in Propeller 1
I'm totally new to the propeller, and am not much of a programmer, so I could use some advice from anyone willing to offer it.

I have a windows program which will only communicate using standard serial baud rates. The device I need to connect it to uses 7812 baud. I've been unsuccessful in figuring out how to override the port speed on my PC once the application has opened the port. I'd bet there's a way to do it with the Win32 API, but like I said...I'm not much of a programmer.

Wanting to learn the propeller anyway, I thought I could run the FullDuplexSerial program at a standard baud rate on one cog for the PC connection (I have that working), and then setup another cog for the slower 7812 baud connection to the device. Where I'm lost is getting the data between the two cogs. This might be basic programming, but being all new to this has me scratching my head now. Any past posts you could suggest I read or any pointers would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-11-09 03:21
    It's so simple that no one has bothered with posts or pointers.

Once you've set up the FullDuplexSerial ports and started them, you do:
    repeat
          char := input.rxcheck
          if char => 0
             output.tx(char)

where "char" is a long variable and "input" and "output" are instances of the FullDuplexSerial object. Read the comments in the FullDuplexSerial source code for rxcheck and tx.
  • SeariderSearider Posts: 290
    edited 2008-11-09 04:33
    You will need to pay attention to flow control. When you are translating from a faster rate to to a slower rate, the faster source can send you data faster than you can transmit it out the slower port. You will either need to buffer the faster input or ensure that you have flow control working.