Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New with the propeller, where is it suggested that I start? — Parallax Forums

New with the propeller, where is it suggested that I start?

Tyler STyler S Posts: 2
edited 2008-11-06 03:30 in Propeller 1
On the propeller downloads page there are four different programs offered to program a propeller chip. As a beginner, I find it hard to know which would be best for me to learn.

I plan to use the propeller for robotics and eventually I will be doing custom work (not just using spin). My thinking is that I should just bite the bullet and learn the most powerful tool first even if it is a little more complex.

I'm a mechanical engineer whose programmed extensively with VBA macros and in MATLAB. I have some programming experience, but I have almost no experience programming a micro-controller.

There's the Propeller Tool, Propellant, Parallax Serial Terminal, and ICCV7. I would prefer to avoid ICCV7 for now since it costs money (I don't think I'd use the advanced features for a while anyways).

As far as hardware I have a Propeller professional development board that I won at a Propeller expo a few months ago. I've been so busy at work that I've just now gotten around to using it. I'd like to learn something that would complement that board well.

Can anyone provide a quick summary of the advantages and disadvantages to each of the software packages and which you think would be best for me?

Thanks,
Tyler

Comments

• Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2008-11-05 04:35
    Any of the Propeller products are fine on the hardware side for learning the Propeller.
    The PPDB is an excellent product! There's a couple good threads started {will have to dig up}
    on that product specifically.

I would start with the Propeller Manual and Propeller Tool. {Unless you are Mac/Linux, then BST}

Take a look at the PEkit labs {in the forum stickies}. They contain a lot of information you can