Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LCD Terminal AppMod, Parallax GPS rx & BS2 — Parallax Forums

LCD Terminal AppMod, Parallax GPS rx & BS2

MeepoMeepo Posts: 24
edited 2009-02-16 18:17 in BASIC Stamp
I can't be the first person to try to use the Parallax LCD AppMod with the Parallax GPS...is there source code somewhere I can download? I'm just a hobbyist, and this LCD AppMod is kind of tricky for me to figure out...

Comments

• sylvie369sylvie369 Posts: 1,622
    edited 2008-11-02 18:39
    I found the LCD Appmod difficult at first as well. I spent some serious time poring through the demo code to try to figure it out, and didn't really understand it even afterwards. However, later I realized that three of the BS2 models - the BS2p, BS2px, and BS2pe - handle these parallel LCDs directly, using the LCDCMD, LCDIN, and LCDOUT commands. A lot of that mysterious code in the demo program is for the other models, and conditional compiling to accommodate the kind of BS2 you're using. If you use a p, px, or pe Stamp, the code is a LOT simpler.

I also had a difficult time figuring out how the buttons work, but I just looked at it again yesterday, and I guess I must have learned a few things since I last looked, as that buttons code looks pretty simple now, and I had no trouble writing a program that reads them.

So what I'm saying is that if you're using the LCD Appmod (or any other parallel LCD) you might want to invest in one of the Stamps that uses the LCD commands. It's pretty simple then. As for interfacing it to the GPS module, once you've learned how to read the $GPGGA NMEA data from the GPS into variables in the Stamp, it's just a matter of sending those data to the LCD. Here's a site I found helpful when I was learning to do it:

http://home.mira.net/~gnb/gps/nmea.html
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2008-11-03 17:04
    Meepo,