Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
OBEX comments — Parallax Forums

OBEX comments

rjo_rjo_ Posts: 1,825
edited 2008-10-31 21:46 in Propeller 1
A new user wants to get off the ground running... after reading for about 10 minutes... he wants to start on his robot... and understanding a little about spin and the use of objects, this is absolutely possible.

However, nothing is perfect... ever... anywhere... in the recorded history of mankind.

Goren

http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=25&m=303925

has made some comments about one of the objects in the exchange. In my experience there are a few other objects... which require information that isn't included... little tips or facts that would help the new user get off the ground and flying.

Information, which an absolute beginner should know, frequently isn't available in the object documentation.

Unfortunately unless Goren submits his object to the OBEX, within a month or two http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=25&m=303925 will be lost to posterity and re-discovered somewhere in the future.

Every user that tries to use the object and fails will either have to re-discover these facts by himself or be reminded of them by Mike, Beau, Phil, Paul, etc.

All of this could be avoided if there were a comment section on each Object page of the OBEX, where users could forever post object specific information, experience and cautions. Not opinions or contentions... just information, which the moderator could choose to moderate.

Rich
ILMP

Comments

• Jeff MartinJeff Martin Posts: 757
    edited 2008-10-31 13:50
    Good idea, rjo_.

A few people have used the Review feature for this, but as you rightly pointed out, it isn't intended to be a comments-type feature (only allows one entry per user, for example).· I also really like your idea of having the collection of comments available as a single text file for download.

I'll add this to the list of scheduled enhancements to the exchange.