Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
serin pin question — Parallax Forums

serin pin question

cplattcplatt Posts: 55
edited 2008-10-29 18:38 in BASIC Stamp
Sorry I'm kinda new to this.

Had great success communicating from my BS2 to PC. Now trying to go from my PC to BS2 and its harder because the stamp has no buffer probably. Figured out the R pin (serial receiving pin) is the dedicated pin on the BOE, Pin 16. What do the two lights mean that flash during serial communication? Should I set up another pin for the F pin (serial flow control), or is there an dedicated pin on the board for that also? Are there any hardware jumpers I have to do to go from the Stamp to the PC or should the BOE be all set up? Seems like the DEC command should do a great job at flow control so there should be no need.

Right now I am sending a byte from the PC to the BS2 and then WRITE(ing) it into the EEPROM, then coming back later to check it with a READ command. (the PC cannot send to the BS2 and the BS2 use the debug window to receive at the same time since they would both use the comm port simultaneously) So far I am only reading nonsense from the EEPROM though. I probably got the var size or DEC formatter screwed up somehow and reading hex or something.

serData var byte
SERIN 16, 16780, [noparse][[/noparse]DEC serData]
WRITE 0, serData

where 1234A sent from the PC, should READ 1234 right?

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• sylvie369sylvie369 Posts: 1,622
    edited 2008-10-28 10:08
    I think you're going to have to clarify a few things:

- You're using a BS2 module on a BOE, right?
    - When you say "the two lights that flash", where are those lights? On the BOE?
    - How are you sending the bytes from the PC?