Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help me put my code on a diet — Parallax Forums

Help me put my code on a diet

MikeyMustangMikeyMustang Posts: 22
edited 2008-11-04 21:44 in BASIC Stamp
I know there are better ways to write this code. I am a newbie and need some guidance on how to TRIM this code up for memory space

Thanks

Mike WA3O

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2008-10-27 22:34
    You seem to be toggling pins quite a bit. Take a look at the toggle command. Also, your pause statements are bit of overkill. Why not have a lookup table, and put the long blocks of code into a for loop. It would look something like this:

For i = 0 to 100
    toggle pinNumber
    LOOKUP i, [noparse][[/noparse]10,58,09, ...], pauseValue
    PAUSE pausevalue
    NEXT
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2008-10-28 14:08
    Any time you have LOTS of "repeated code" it just cries out for subroutines.

I created a couple of subroutines -- "Dit:" and "Dah:".· Each call to the subroutine saves you about 6 bytes of storage.

I started to translate all your HIGH 14: Pause 50: LOW 14 instances to a "GOSUB DIT" -- but got tired.· Hopefully, you see the pattern.

Oh, and note that your "AUX1ON:" routine will 'fall through' to "AUX1OFF:" the way you have it now.

Oh, and note the "IF DTMF = 1 THEN CWM1" does a GOTO CWM1.· You CAN do "IF DTMF = 1 THEN GOSUB CWM1" if that's what you want.

The "DATA" statement is the beginning of an example where you 'encode' the Dit/Dah you want to send as data statements.

Post Edited (allanlane5) : 10/28/2008 2:16:04 PM GMT
  • MikeyMustangMikeyMustang Posts: 22
    edited 2008-10-28 21:13
    Allen'

You must have read my mind....(short story) LOL! I started to that that exact thing at work today and for some reason it ate up more space? I also am wondering if I really need to make sure both pins are off...kinda of redundant... do gosubs take up more space?

I did a

dah: pulsout 13, 180
    dit: pulseout 14, 60