Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
i2c Slave and COG RAM Access — Parallax Forums

i2c Slave and COG RAM Access

EricGarlicEricGarlic Posts: 41
edited 2008-11-12 00:10 in Propeller 1
Hello from the UK

I would like to use a propeller as an i2c Slave. The propeller then receives data written to it and then performs actions depending on the data that it receives. (I'm relatively new to propeller so any response should be couched in terms suitable for the hard of understanding).

The only i2c Slave object in existing is Hippy's :

forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=25&m=263375
[noparse][[/noparse]url]

I can kick off the i2c Slave object in a cog. I can write to that slave (using another propeller and existing i2c master objects). How do I access the data accepted by the slave cog (I guess I'm asking how do I access COG ram data).

Any help appreciated.

Eric

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-10-24 19:22
    You can't access cog ram from another cog. What you have to do is to copy the data to the shared hub ram where other cogs can access it. Look at existing I/O drivers included with the Propeller Tool and from the Propeller Object Exchange. They all do this. The PS/2 keyboard driver is one example.
  • hippyhippy Posts: 1,981
    edited 2008-10-24 19:26
    It comes down to where the Cog acting as the I2C Slave puts the data it receives; this can either be in Cog memory or in Hub memory. If it's in Hub Memory it's simply case of reading it and using it from other Cogs / Spin.

If it's in Cog memory you'll need a mechanism to interact with the Cog and have it place its data in Hub memory so it can be accessed by other Cogs. This is going to interfere with the I2C Bus handling itself so it's not recommended. Having the I2C Slave Cog store its data in Hub is probably the best solution.

Added : Looking at the demo code you will find this to start a 16Kx8 RAM, based at $4000 in hub memory ...