Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
beginner's question — Parallax Forums

beginner's question

lostsouldarklostsouldark Posts: 5
edited 2008-10-22 14:59 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I'm a beginner with basic stamp and robotic.
I would know how many sensors can we put on the sumo board, and hwo on the board of education ?
sensors like PIR, LCD, digital thermometer ds1620, photoresistor.

Thanks a lot,

lostsouldark

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2008-10-22 10:25
    lostsouldark -

Your question seems to contain a limitation which really doesn't exist, so if I may, let me re-phrase your question as follows:

Does either the SumoBot programming board, or the BOE programming board present any limitation as to how many I/O pin ports are available for use by the programmer?

The answer to that questions is - no, not as far as I am aware. The basic limitation of the number of I/O pin ports available for use by the programmer is based on the underlying PBASIC Stamp. Parallax thoughtfully publishes a Stamp comparison document, which you will find attached to this message. Therein you will find each of the PBASIC Stamps, and how many I/O ports each has. There is a good deal more information than that, all summarized on one page for ease of reference.

There is a circumvention to even this limitation, and that's through the use of shift registers to (artificially) increase the number of input or output pin ports. There is a Nuts and Volts article which addresses this very issue, and shows how to use them. There is a TON of information contained in the Nuts and Volts columns, which can be found here on the Parallax web site, and they are free for the download:
    http://www.parallax.com/Resources/NutsVoltsColumns/tabid/272/Default.aspx

Volume 5 Column 109 contains the applications information for expanding the PBASIC Stamps' I/O ports by use of shift registers.

I hope that answers your question and doesn't confuse you.

Regards,

Bruce Bates