Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
info about Stamp PLC — Parallax Forums

info about Stamp PLC

farsadfarsad Posts: 27
edited 2008-10-21 20:51 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I am a graduate student. I am developing a controller-data logger system for my project. I am thinking about using a parallax stamp PLC for my system.

can any body kindly answer these questions?

1. the PLC has only 4 analog inputs. is there any way to increase them to at least 6?

2. I want to use the PLC as a data logger too. how much is its memory size?

3. is there any A/D converter module among Parallax products ? I mean something that can convert an analog signal from a sensor to a digital signal so that I can use a digital port for reading an analog sensor?

thank you very much,

PS: sorry about my last Post. I forgot the to write the subject

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2008-10-20 17:24
    By using several simple techniques, you can expand the inputs/outputs to any reasonable number. The technique generally uses a 74HC595 and 74hc165 shift registers to allow a few stamp pins to read many signals. Go to the Parallax store website and download the text "What's a microcontroller?" It has many sample programs to get you going.

Similarly, you can multiplex the a/d channels or use a multichannel a/d chip. Linear Technologies makes a whole family that will work with Stamps. The standard one I use is a 12-bit 2-channel LTC1298.

Rather than the Stamp PLC, I'd recommend a Stamp chip (from experience I'd use a BS2sx or BS2px) and a Super Carrier board ( #27130).

Large-scale data storage on-chip is not too practical; use an external memory unit such as a VDrive which will let you store data in a USB thumb drive.

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com
    ·
  • farsadfarsad Posts: 27
    edited 2008-10-21 02:43