Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 to BS2sx program compatability — Parallax Forums

BS2 to BS2sx program compatability

peteppetep Posts: 5
edited 2008-10-24 15:24 in BASIC Stamp
First off, I'm new to robotics and programming...

So I've been using a BS2 chip with a boe bot for a couple months. I started running out of code space, so I decided to purchase the BS2sx chip.

The first thing I noticed when I plugged in the BS2sx chip was that the drive servos needed to be recentered.

To recenter them I used:
pulsout 750
pause 20

Then I started playing around and tried to load all my old BS2 programs onto the·BS2sx·chip. The boe bot stutters and barely moves.

The batteries are brand new.

Is this happening because of the different processor speed? What do I need to change in my BS2 code to use it on the BS2sx?· If the two chips work significantly differently, where could I get a guide book for the BS2sx? I looked through the Parallax store and there were only BS2 books.

Thanks!

·

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2008-10-15 07:08
    petep -

Two things will probably need to be changed. One is the duration in the PULSOUT command, and the second is how·the PAUSE commands are set up. The former is a definite, but the latter is a maybe.

The BS-2 and BS-2sx have different values for "timer units" (TU's) and thus the program must be modified according to the table in the description of the PULSOUT command in the PBASIC Help file, or PBASIC Reference Manual. Here is a copy:

Stamp Model·········· BS1········ BS2, BS2e, and BS2pe······· BS2sx, BS2p, and BS2px
    Units in Duration···· 10 µs·············· 2 µs····························· ···· 0.8 µs

Solving this formula will give you your new durations:

Old duration···· X New duration
    =
    ··· 2 µs··············· 0.8 µs