Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
DTMF to Iambic Morse Code? — Parallax Forums

DTMF to Iambic Morse Code?

MikeyMustangMikeyMustang Posts: 22
edited 2008-10-23 22:16 in BASIC Stamp
Hello
·First let me say I am an Extreme Newbie when it comes to the Basic Stamp or any other programming for that matter...please be patient.
·I am working on a project to decode DTMF (0-9,#,*) and convert them to iambic Morse code. Iambic is where the dash would output one pin and the dit on another pin and in combination would result in a Morse character.
·I have the schematic done and wanted someone to confirm it and I have some code (not finished) which I barrowed from a fellow ham (K2FS) with his permission which might be a good start?
·What this project does is program an SI570· frequency chip via Skype. I have a working circuit (thanks to Doug Hall K4DSP) that takes a Iambic paddle input to program an I2C SI570 chip... for instance if I want 14.200mhz· would "paddle in" 14 period 200 K· in Morse code...I know what you are thinking why not go DTMF to I2C?? Remember I am an extreme newbie!
·What I want to be able to do is call my Skype via my cell type in 14*200# and be able to program and listen to my radio on that frequency.
Questions I have
1. How would I use pins 18 (P13)dash and 19 (P14)DIT to be keyed Iambic (dash on one pin and dit on the other combined to make a Morse character?
Would I code the output pins like this for number 1 (.----) ?
CWONE:
start :····· high 19·········· Do I use p14?
························· DIT
············ pause 50
············ high 18·········· Do I use p13?
························· DAH
············ pause 150
············ high 18
············ pause 150
············ high 18
············ pause 150
············ high 18
············ pause 150
············ goto start
·····
2. How would I send *(star dtmf) to = period (.-.-.-) would it be 85 01010101?
3. How would I send #(pound dtmf) to = K assuming (163)?
4. what does this code do ?
·tentozero: