Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Mac/Linux/Windows IDE - Ver 0.19.3 "Now with new improved PropBasic" release - Page 38 — Parallax Forums

Mac/Linux/Windows IDE - Ver 0.19.3 "Now with new improved PropBasic" release

1353638404152

Comments

  • heaterheater Posts: 3,370
    edited 2010-02-09 17:20
    I think I found another wee buggee:

    The following code compiles fine if the included file "nops.bin" is exactly 16K and the complete program it lives in has 3288 LONGS free.

    BUT adding just a single byte to the included file "nops.bin" causes the compilation to fail with

    "Object exceeds 32K"

    This clearly cannot be. I was expecting an error about the FIT failing.

    CON
    zpu_memory_size = (16 * 1024)                           'The size of ZPU memory area
    
    DAT                     org 0
    zpu_memory
                            file "nops.bin"
    padding                 byte 0[noparse][[/noparse](zpu_memory_size) - (@padding - @zpu_memory)]
    zpu_memory_end
                            fit (zpu_memory_size) / 4
    
    
    

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    For me, the past is not over yet.
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-09 23:19
    heater said...
    I think I found another wee buggee:

    The following code compiles fine if the included file "nops.bin" is exactly 16K and the complete program it lives in has 3288 LONGS free.

    BUT adding just a single byte to the included file "nops.bin" causes the compilation to fail with

    "Object exceeds 32K"

    This clearly cannot be. I was expecting an error about the FIT failing.

    CON
    zpu_memory_size = (16 * 1024)                           'The size of ZPU memory area
    
    DAT                     org 0
    zpu_memory
                            file "nops.bin"
    padding                 byte 0[noparse][[/noparse](zpu_memory_size) - (@padding - @zpu_memory)]
    zpu_memory_end
                            fit (zpu_memory_size) / 4
    
    
    


    Umm.. it looks like you are doing this..

    zpu_memory_size = 16384
    Your file size is 16385

    byte 0[noparse][[/noparse]16384 - 16385]

    which becomes byte 0[noparse][[/noparse]4294967295]

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • heaterheater Posts: 3,370
    edited 2010-02-10 07:35
    BradC: Good point, that's not the bug but this is :

    CON
    zpu_memory_size = (16 * 1024)                           'The size of ZPU memory area
    
    DAT                     org 0
    zpu_memory
                            'file "nops.bin"             'A 16Kb file
                            byte 0[noparse][[/noparse]zpu_memory_size]    'A 16Kb array
    file_end
                            byte 0[noparse][[/noparse]100]                 '<------- THIS SHOULD CAUSE FIT TO FAIL
    zpu_memory_end
                            fit (zpu_memory_size / 4)
    
    



    As above with the "file" statement commented out it correctly fails "PC exceeds cog memory by 25 longs"

    BUT uncomment the "file" statement and comment the line below and it does not fail the FIT any more.

    The file is 16K

    heaterl@ddt:~/zog$ ls -l nops.bin
    -rw-r--r-- 1 heater heater 16384 Feb 10 09:16 nops.bin
    michael@ddt:~/zog$

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    For me, the past is not over yet.
  • heaterheater Posts: 3,370
    edited 2010-02-10 07:42
    By the way the error "PC exceeds cog memory by 0 longs" is disturbing until you realize 1 BYTE is 0.25 LONGS which rounds to 0 longs [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    For me, the past is not over yet.
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-10 08:02
    Ahh yes, I see. When bstc imports binary data from FILE command, it omits incrementing the COG address pointer. I need to do some tests to see what the Parallax compiler might do in some odd alignment cases and have a closer look at fixing it.. Thanks! [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • Daniel NagyDaniel Nagy Posts: 26
    edited 2010-02-13 13:43
    Dear BradC!

    First of all, I'd like to thank your work!

    Second, I have a question.
    In the installation guide (http://www.parallax.com/tabid/828/Default.aspx) it is mentioned that the serial adapter driver from FTDI must be installed.
    Despite of this, here is what I've done:
    (I use Kubuntu 9.10, 2.6.31-19-generic #56, x86_64)

    I plugged the propeller to my laptop.

    #lsmod |grep ftdi
    ftdi_sio               60264  0
    usbserial              43248  1 ftdi_sio
    
    



    So I tought that my kernel supports the chip.
    So I installed the btc tool.
    And found out that it worked, I was able to download programs to the propeller, as far I tried.

    Is this means, that the guide is somewhat outdated at least for this kernel version, or I must install the driver from FTDI to ensure proper operation?

    Thanks,
    Daniel
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-13 14:20
    Daniel Nagy said...
    Dear BradC!

    First of all, I'd like to thank your work!

    Second, I have a question.
    In the installation guide (http://www.parallax.com/tabid/828/Default.aspx) it is mentioned that the serial adapter driver from FTDI must be installed.

    G'day Daniel, I appreciate that, thanks.

    The guide on the Parallax site was written by Parallax and is geared toward Macintosh users.

    As a rule, most Linux distributions manage to release kernels with working ftdi drivers out of the box, so there is no need to install anything to make it work. Provided your distribution has udev set up correctly then bst should find your prop plug out of the box. If you can detect your Propeller then you are good to go.

    Linux and Mac users do have to install the proper font though.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • Daniel NagyDaniel Nagy Posts: 26
    edited 2010-02-13 14:29
    That's good news.
    Thank you.
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-15 23:36
    Ok, so the changes got too major to justify an 0.18.5 release, therefore we skipped straight to 0.19.

    Changelog in top post as usual.

    Major changes :

    PropBasic Integration!

    This would not have happened without the support of Bean (it is his compiler after all!), JonnyMac, Brian Riley, Mike Green and Anthony McGraw.

    Any errors not related to the actual generation of correct SPIN code from BASIC source are probably mine, so don't go bugging Bean about it!

    You need the -bst PropBasic binaries as there are some minor internal changes that mean it *WILL NOT WORK* with Bean's standard binaries. (Don't try, really.. bst will just stare at you blankly with that "Whatchoo talkin' 'bout Willis?" look on its face)

    These are found at www.fnarfbargle.com/PropBasic and are versioned by Beans compiler revision with my svn commit number appended to the end. (I may do a number of intermediate releases in between Beans official releases as things develop).

    You will need to go to Tools -> IDE Preferences -> PropBasic and select the path of your PropBasic-bst binary. If you select a binary it does not like, bst will simply ignore you. If you give it what it wants, you will be rewarded with a little pop up box telling you the revision number of the PropBasic compiler you have selected.

    The only major missing features for this release are Syntax Highlighting and Archiving. They will both be implemented in a later release.

    This release sees some behavioural changes required to get the integration as smooth as possible. One of these is with regard to syntax highlighting.
    Previously bst would try and highlight any file you opened. Now, it will only apply spin highlighting to files with a .spin extension. This means if you were using .spinx or .pasm or any other extension, your files will no longer highlight as spin files. I'm considering a possibility for a user generated list of file extensions to recognise as spin files, but for this release I'm afraid it's fixed.

    Unlike spin files, PropBasic files *must* be saved to disk prior to compiling. The compiler is a separate binary and will only read files from the disk. To make this as seamless as possible, when you try any form of Basic Compile, bst will save every tab with a modified basic file in it.

    PropBasic can't cope with Unicode, so bst will convert any unicode characters it finds into '?' when the file is saved to disk. It will pop up a message box telling you it is doing this so you know your file has been changed. The process of the conversion means you *will* lose the undo history in any tab that has code that was converted, so make sure you know what you want to do before saving your file!

    There is a "Compile Basic to Spin" item in the compile menu. This compiles the Basic code and opens (or refreshes if they are already open) the spin code in new tabs. These tabs are marked read-only and are not automatically saved to disk. If you save and modify these tabs, when you next perform a basic compile the code in the tabs will be refreshed from the new compile, and the tabs re-marked read-only.

    The bst integration of PropBasic tries to follow the general "drop and run" philosophy of bst, so there are no intermediate files generated. There should be nothing left behind after a basic compile, and provided the spin code generated has no errors in it, you should not even know it was there. An F10 on a tab containing Basic code should compile and download seamlessly the same way Spin code does. If it doesn't, then I'd like to hear about it.

    The other real major change is the way the Propeller Font is rendered under Windows XP. It *should* look a lot nicer now.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.

    Post Edited (BradC) : 2/15/2010 11:41:50 PM GMT
  • Brian RileyBrian Riley Posts: 626
    edited 2010-02-16 04:56
    MacIntosh Users of BST may want to take a look at my tutorial on installing the new setup. I revised the old AppNote and renamed it AN-PROP002, complete with new screenshots, etc.

    I have a downloadable Zip file which offers, in effect, 'one stop shopping.' It's 11.3 MB and has the bst/propbasic executables (bst 0.19/propbasic 80, the correct modified-for-Mac Parallax.ttf font file and the standard objects from the 1.2.7 Propeller Tool, with FloatString upgraded all in a folder structure ready to drop on your Applications folder.

    The tutorial/AppNote and download links can be found at


    www.wulfden.org/TheShoppe/prop/index.shtml

    cheers ... BBR

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    cheers ... brian riley, n1bq, underhill center, vermont
    The Shoppe at Wulfden
    www.wulfden.org/TheShoppe/
  • hinvhinv Posts: 1,255
    edited 2010-02-17 01:32
    The compile information for a small problem show a total of 8188 longs. What happened to 4 longs?
    358 x 272 - 17K
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-17 05:53
    hinv said...
    The compile information for a small problem show a total of 8188 longs. What happened to 4 longs?

    The binary header, bytes $0->$F.

    Does the Propeller tool include that in the tally?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2010-02-17 06:02
    Congratulations Brad, Bean & co. Another huge·step forward. yeah.gif

    And to Brian too (not that I am a Mac user) as this opens up the audience yeah.gif

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz
  • SapiehaSapieha Posts: 2,964
    edited 2010-02-17 06:05
    Hi BradC.

    It is only > Help>About that have problems.


    Regards
    Christoffer J

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Nothing is impossible, there are only different degrees of difficulty.
    For every stupid question there is at least one intelligent answer.
    Don't guess - ask instead.
    If you don't ask you won't know.
    If your gonna construct something, make it·as simple as·possible yet as versatile as posible.


    Sapieha
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-17 06:10
    Sapieha said...
    Hi BradC.

    It is only > Help>About that have problems.

    Thanks Sapieha, that clears that up. I'm afraid you might have to give me a day or two to see if I can figure out what I broke.

    Appreciate the feedback, thanks!

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2010-02-18 20:10
    Brad: I just downloaded 0.19 and I thoughT my glasses were dirty. The new font is slightly fuzzy. Just to be sure, I ran the old version 0.18.5 and sure enough the font was crisp.

    BTW is the latest compiler still 0.15.4-pre3 ?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-18 22:59
    Cluso99 said...
    Brad: I just downloaded 0.19 and I thoughT my glasses were dirty. The new font is slightly fuzzy. Just to be sure, I ran the old version 0.18.5 and sure enough the font was crisp.

    Yes, I changed the way the fonts were rendered using Microsofts "ClearType". Wonderful isn't it?. Unfortunately it appears that different versions of windows handle it differently. Which one are you running?

    BTW is the latest compiler still 0.15.4-pre3 ?

    Yes it is, although Bean just pointed me at a bug I have to fix, so I'll be on that this weekend. I'll also revisit the font rendering *again* when I can get hold of some win32 machines to test on.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2010-02-19 00:22
    Brad: Vista. When I get time I will try it on my XP laptop.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-19 00:32
    Cluso99 said...
    Brad: Vista. When I get time I will try it on my XP laptop.

    If you could that would be great. I have access to a laptop now that dual boots Vista & XP so I can try some tweaks.

    Back when bst was in its infancy there was a switch implemented in the IDE Preferences to enable/disable anti-aliased rendering. Somewhere along the line the original purpose for that got lost, but I noticed that Vista improved the font rendering by actually performing smoothing while XP just would not. When we were in the throes of 0.19-pre Jon observed that the font rendering on XP was naff (which it had always been) so I fiddled about until I got ClearType enabled and that seemed to fix things. Obviously it has made it noticeably worse on Vista.

    What I've done is re-tweaked the "anti-alias editor fonts" switch in the IDE prefs, so in the next version you'll be able to turn that off and get back to the way things were in Vista pre 0.19.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2010-02-22 05:54
    Brad: A request if possible...

    1. Permit Ctl-F10 to also compile and load (same as F10) so as to be compatible with PropTool. Any implications in this??

    2. Could you do a "key" option (F12 ??) for compile, if no errors download to Ram and then automatically switch to your Terminal window (presuming it was previously opened).

    3. Otherwise (for 2.) could you implement a "key" option (F12 ??) to switch to your terminal window.

    For 2 & 3 above, I am always doing this manually, so it would be a real nice feature smile.gif

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz

    Post Edited (Cluso99) : 2/22/2010 8:06:27 AM GMT
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-22 09:07
    Hrm.. I've been meaning to implement the whole "top file" thing for a while now. Maybe I need to just sit down and do it.

    As for the terminal window, I was thinking if the terminal was open and connected, it should automatically come to the front as soon as the download is complete. Maybe a setting in the terminal menu to determine if you want it to pop forward after a good compile/download. I kinda think it should just happen by default, otherwise why do you have it open and connected anyway?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • heaterheater Posts: 3,370
    edited 2010-02-22 10:26
    BradC: Having the terminal window step forward after a download is an excellent idea. It's one of those niggley things that I had in mind to suggest but didn't as I know you have a lot else to be doing.

    Also it would be great if F10 would work, compile and download, when the terminal has focus. Quite often when stepping through ZiCog/Zog, whatever code, I found myself wanting to restart it. As I don't load the EEPROM every time or perhaps there is not even one connected, the "Reset Prop" thing is not enough.

    Details, details....

    By the way, I had a little fight with the "type" of data included with a "file" statement.

    If I set up a simple loop to print elements of the included file then it is treated as an array of BYTEs or WORDs or LONGs depending on what was declared immediately before the "file" statement.

    That's OK one can always put a dummy, empty, declaration immediately prior to the "file" and the file data will assume that type.

    Is that the same behavior as in the Prop Tool?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    For me, the past is not over yet.
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2010-02-22 10:34
    BradC: Yes, having the terminal window step forward after a successful download would be excellent.

    Would it be possible for you to add a clearscreen command for the terminal if $00 and/or $18 was received. I note a lot of use of $00, but in those old days $18 (can) was used. I have implemented both in my simple terminal interface within the 1-pin TV driver.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-22 11:17
    heater said...
    BradC: Having the terminal window step forward after a download is an excellent idea. It's one of those niggley things that I had in mind to suggest but didn't as I know you have a lot else to be doing.

    Also it would be great if F10 would work, compile and download, when the terminal has focus. Quite often when stepping through ZiCog/Zog, whatever code, I found myself wanting to restart it. As I don't load the EEPROM every time or perhaps there is not even one connected, the "Reset Prop" thing is not enough.

    Hrm.. that has been bugging me for a while actually. Just F10 I reckon.. no point passing the other compile options through.
    heater said...

    By the way, I had a little fight with the "type" of data included with a "file" statement.

    If I set up a simple loop to print elements of the included file then it is treated as an array of BYTEs or WORDs or LONGs depending on what was declared immediately before the "file" statement.

    That's OK one can always put a dummy, empty, declaration immediately prior to the "file" and the file data will assume that type.

    Is that the same behavior as in the Prop Tool?

    Well, a symbol has an alignment. It is the symbol that has the alignment. File " xxx " just imports bytes wherever you put it, so if you have a long symbol then a FILE command it will just squirt that data straight into the DAT section, but if you reference the symbol from spin it will be referenced as a long symbol.

    I've just checked and the Prop Tool does what I think is logical, so I'd suspect bst[noparse][[/noparse]c] does the same.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-22 11:20
    Cluso99 said...
    BradC: Yes, having the terminal window step forward after a successful download would be excellent.

    Yeah, I have that working nicely here now. I need to verify it on OSX and Windows though. They have oddities with focus for me sometimes.
    Cluso99 said...

    Would it be possible for you to add a clearscreen command for the terminal if $00 and/or $18 was received. I note a lot of use of $00, but in those old days $18 (can) was used. I have implemented both in my simple terminal interface within the 1-pin TV driver.

    It's a hack I guess. $00 is NUL and $18 is CAN. Neither of those mean "clear the screen"..

    I suppose I could build a PST compatible mode in you could activate using a switch. I would not want junk coming in the port start clearing the screen by default.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-22 11:30
    If I'm going to do something PST compatible, how do you pass parameters for $2 (Position X,Y) / $E (Position X) / $F (Position Y) ?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2010-02-22 11:35
    BradC: Yes, NUL is a hack that I first saw here. CAN was used by ICL from 1969 through to 1999 on the System Ten and System 25 minis. IIRC, CAN was used by some other terminals. Goodness knows why Dec introduced those long escape sequences.

    Given you have a long buffer, and currently you display a "?" for $0 (threw me for a while), perhaps converting it to 2 <cr> would be nice. I guess it's not that important as I can always use TerraTerm or similar to act as a terminal when I need it.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2010-02-22 11:38
    Cluso99 said...

    Given you have a long buffer, and currently you display a "?" for $0 (threw me for a while), perhaps converting it to 2 <cr> would be nice. I guess it's not that important as I can always use TerraTerm or similar to act as a terminal when I need it.

    I convert all non-printable characters to '?'. The garbage was far more confusing (and it had a propensity to make it go down in flames).

    I'm quite happy to do a full blown PST compatible mode, I'll just have it switchable. It might make me get off my backside and finish the VT100 parser too. That could be an alternative mode.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    You only ever need two tools in life. If it moves and it shouldn't use Duct Tape. If it does not move and it should use WD40.
  • Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2010-02-22 16:10
    BradC: I think there are many other more important things than VT100 emulation for now. A switch to convert $00 to $0D <cr> would be nice.
    I have been looking for where the "?" was coming from for a while now on different projects. Never looked too closely till now.

    A file transfer function would be more useful than VT100 because I am always transferring files on the SD card. Something along the lines of Michael's (mpark) GET/PUT. Usually I am transferring the binary just compiled. Anyway, I am sure you have more pressing things to do.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Links to other interesting threads:

    · Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade,·RamBlade,·SixBlade, website
    · Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator)
    · Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index)
    · Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) ZiCog (Z80) , MoCog (6809)·
    · Prop OS: SphinxOS·, PropDos , PropCmd··· Search the Propeller forums·(uses advanced Google search)
    My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz·· MultiBlade Props: www.cluso.bluemagic.biz
  • SapiehaSapieha Posts: 2,964
    edited 2010-02-22 16:14
    Hi BradC


    It is maybe to much work for You BUT.

    Istead of have fast codes for Terminal can You maybe have Configurable secqences in Terminal properties for -
    Blank and Cursor control and some others that are diferent in some Terminal programs.
    Maybe Sequence for - Generating NEW line to for strobing it by LF, CR else CR/LF.

    Regards
    Christoffer J

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Nothing is impossible, there are only different degrees of difficulty.
    For every stupid question there is at least one intelligent answer.
    Don't guess - ask instead.
    If you don't ask you won't know.
    If your gonna construct something, make it·as simple as·possible yet as versatile as posible.


    Sapieha
Sign In or Register to comment.