Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Turning on a Light Bulb — Parallax Forums

Turning on a Light Bulb

bushybushy Posts: 3
edited 2008-11-02 15:16 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

I'm trying to make an photoresistor turn on a lamp/bulb. I'm working with the BASIC Stamp Activity Kit so the photoresistor shouldn't be a problem, but I don't know how to turn the lamp on and off aside from using a servo to flip the switch. I'm a total newb and I don't know the proper terminology to search for this.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2008-09-30 18:54
    Bushy,

Please provide some details about the lamp…is it AC or DC? How many volts/amps/watts? All of this depends on how you would go about controlling it.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Engineering
  • bushybushy Posts: 3
    edited 2008-09-30 19:51
    It recommends a 60 Watt Type A bulb and is 120V 60Hz AC
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-30 19:58
    You can certainly use a servo to turn on and off a conventional switch. You can also get a solid state relay (SSR). For a 60W bulb, something as simple as a Crydom D2W202F would work (Google the model # to find a datasheet). All of these have a + terminal to connect to a Stamp I/O pin and a - terminal that you'd connect to the Stamp's Vss (ground) pin or supply. You'd make the I/O pin HIGH to turn it on and LOW or INPUT to turn it off. The other pins on the SSR switch the AC. There are higher power SSRs with screw terminals that work the same way and may be easier to use. If you don't know how to properly protect yourself and your circuits from the dangers of AC, stick with the servo and ordinary AC switch.
  • JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2008-09-30 20:01
    Bushy,

I·would reccomend a solid state relay for switching an AC light.

Jonathan

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    www.madlabs.info - Home of the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Robot