Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
wiring a darlington UNL2803 — Parallax Forums

wiring a darlington UNL2803

eagleeagle Posts: 6
edited 2008-09-30 18:39 in BASIC Stamp
I am a total newbie at this and would appreciate any help. I have placed my Basic Stamp rev. J P15 to pin 1 on the Darlington and the +out at pin 18.
The 6 volt power supply is + on pin 10 and -at pin 9. I cannot get it to activate a Radio Shack reed 5VDC reed relay.
The relay works well without the Darlington.
375 x 454 - 34K

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2008-09-29 19:39
    Eagle,

You show your positive supply connected to pin 10, but it also need to connect to one side of the relay coil. Also, your supply for the relay needs to have a common ground with the BASIC Stamp supply (VSS). I can’t tell if you have a + symbol next to OUT1 (pin 18), but that pin will connect to ground when the IN1 pin (from P15) goes high. I hope this helps. Take care.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Engineering
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2008-09-29 19:41
    Make sure the relay is using the same ground as all the rest. The stamp should be connected to ground and the pin to the 2803. The relay should be between Ground and pin 18. Test with a meter if you have problems.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • eagleeagle Posts: 6
    edited 2008-09-29 19:45
    Thanks you, I am going to wire to your suggestions.
    edited 2008-09-29 19:50
    Franklin said...
    Make sure the relay is using the same ground as all the rest. The stamp should be connected to ground and the pin to the 2803. The relay should be between Ground and pin 18. Test with a meter if you have problems.
    Franklin,