Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Steping servos — Parallax Forums

Steping servos

magmag Posts: 8
edited 2008-10-02 17:07 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, i'm new at this I just ordered the basic stamp kit and this is what i'm attempting to accomplish.

1.- I need to monitor line speed on an assembly line.

2.- I need a photosensor to "see" the product

3.- use the line speed to find out how fast the servo needs to run
···· (how do I make the servo turn faster?)

4.- When product is detected·Servo will do 1/3 turn than stop and wait for the next product detected
···· (I don't know how to do this.· Do I need a standard servo? or·the contious type?)

5.- that's it! simple........ right???

Basic idea is the servo needs to turn faster as the line speed on the assembly line increases.
And it will always do 1/3 turn.·

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-29 02:27
    I don't think a servo will work for you. You probably need to use a stepper motor.

A conventional servo will move through roughly a 180 to 270 degree range of motion only. There are mechanical stops at the end of this range. You can somewhat control the servo's speed by changing its position slightly as much as 50 times a second.

A continuous motion servo allows control of the servo's speed and direction, but there's no control of servo position. You can't reliably and accurately turn it 1/3 of a turn for example.

A stepper motor allows you to accurately control the position and speed of the motor, but needs a controller. You can either buy a controller (like from Parallax) or you can use the Stamp as a controller by adding switching transistors to turn on and off the power to the motor windings. There are Nuts and Volts Columns on this subject that you can download from Parallax. Go to the main web page, select the Resources tab, then use the Nuts and Volts Columns link to see the index.
  • magmag Posts: 8
    edited 2008-09-29 02:39
    Thanks for replying Mike.