Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 — Parallax Forums

BS2

JolacJolac Posts: 1
edited 2008-10-05 01:22 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new in BS2, can anyone give me a tip on how to start doing a project using BS2.smilewinkgrin.gif

Comments

• Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,563
    edited 2008-09-27 16:47
    I would start out by taking a look at this...

http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/books/edu/Wamv2_2.pdf

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Beau Schwabe

IC Layout Engineer
    Parallax, Inc.
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2008-09-27 16:53
    Go here www.parallax.com/tabid/535/Default.aspx and read.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2008-09-28 04:12
    Read all about programming techniques. BS2 specific stuff is good, but just about any modern programming language will have concepts that apply to the BS2. Just be sure to ignore the parts about GUIs and Objects.
  • kingspudkingspud Posts: 128
    edited 2008-09-28 18:41
    Hello,

I think one of the most important things you should do when starting a BS2 project is start small! Take a look at the online documentation and play around with some of the small LED projects and slowly work up to using some IC's. You can use the 4511 BCD chips and play with the 7-segment displays and then go to UP/DOWN counters and so on. When you are ready start using servos and then small DC motors.

Remember to start small and have fun! If you start out with the large project you will get frustrated and end up putting the board aside. Also, don't hesitate to ask questions because that is why we are all here... to help those that are just starting out!

When programming just walk through the documentation and copy in the smaller programs and watch what they do. You will have a lot of fun when you see your 7-segment display light up or flash from 0 to 9!

Joe

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    “Intellectual growth should commence at birth and cease only at death”