Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help with shift registers — Parallax Forums

Need help with shift registers

DeeLuxxDeeLuxx Posts: 14
edited 2008-09-27 04:44 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,

Im not new to basic stamp and have been using a BS2 with the USB BOE for a while now (i was using picaxe before that).

anyway, i just ordered some 8 x 8 led matrices and was looking at ways to control them and decided to use a d flip flop ring counter to refresh the display and a serial in parallel out 8 bit shift register to sort of buffer the data that was going to be displayed on the next refresh of the matrix.

so i went to my local supplier and picked up four 74LS175 quad D flip flops for the counters and two 74LS164 8 bit shift registers, as well as 20 green LEDs and a multi pack of resistors for prototyping purposes.

i have never used shift registers before but i am familiar on how they work. eg i know how they shift data in on the clock pulse etc. . . i know the theory side of things.

I hooked them up to a basic stamp with a breadboard as shown in the pictures with 4k7 pulldown resistors on the data, clock and reset lines and used transistors with leds to show the state of the data, clock, reset, Qa, and Qb flip flops.

heres the code i used:

' {$STAMP BS2}
LOW 13
PAUSE 1000
HIGH 13
PAUSE 1000
HIGH 15
PAUSE 1000
PULSOUT 14, 100
PAUSE 1000
LOW 15
PAUSE 1000
PULSOUT 14, 100
end

Ok so i was expecting Qa to be low (0) and Qb to be high (1) and i clocked two bits out of the basic stamp, 1, and 0.

all that happens is that i can see the data clocking because of the LEDs on the data lines and the pauses i included in the code but the LEDs on Qa and Qb remain the same.

i tried different transistor configurations and and different resistors on the transistors but nothing worked.

I dont know whether this is a hard ware issue such as voltage etc or a code issue.

ive included photos of my circuit (and my *ULTRA* clean workspace) for reference

Please help me