Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Capturing, processing and transmitting video images — Parallax Forums

Capturing, processing and transmitting video images

mirage.ohmirage.oh Posts: 2
edited 2008-09-29 07:02 in Propeller 1
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie here and would like to ask you guys for some advice. I'm currently looking for a microprocessor that can capture video images from a webcam/pin hole camera, process the video (setting the frame rate etc) and then streaming the video images through a wireless chip. May I know if the Propeller microprocessor is able to do all these? If not, do any of you have any recommendations?

Regards,
Mirage

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-24 15:57
    The Propeller is not fast enough to do this nor does it have enough memory. You really need something like an embedded PC with a megabyte or so of RAM and running something like embedded Linux off an SD card.
  • LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2008-09-24 17:20
    The ADI Blackfin is ideal for that sort of application. The tools are expensive, though.

Leon

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
    Suzuki SV1000S motorcycle
  • rjo_rjo_ Posts: 1,825
    edited 2008-09-24 18:43
    Mirage,

I don't have the same interests... but pretty close. I thought about it for a long time and finally went here:

http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/archive.pl?Language=English&CategoryNo=39&No=281

Terasic is an Altera distributor/development partner.

This is a wonderful, affordable and startlingly clear implementation. Great way to jump into Verilog and FPGAs...and it actually works, first time, with about 10 minutes worth of study. I don't speak Verilog... never saw an FPGA before and I am not a techno wiz.

Don't get the DE1 package... it doesn't support saving to PC, which you will want. There are all kinds of prebuilt utilities in Altera's OBEX... which you can pay through the nose for[noparse]:)[/noparse]