Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Useing keyboard to ajust varubles?? — Parallax Forums

Useing keyboard to ajust varubles??

krazyideaskrazyideas Posts: 119
edited 2008-10-02 02:26 in Propeller 1
I have the propeller Demo board along with the assesorites kit which has a key board.
I want to use the keys on the key board to modifi my program on the fly useing a Dat and an if (this key is pressed) then adjust this varuble this much.
I have the keyboard program that alows me to type on screen but how do I make it affect my varubles

And if ya didn't guess I'm just starting out with this and I'm just learning, so lamans terms would be great.
Thanks so much

crazyideas

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2008-09-22 23:45
    Do you want to have volume like control (increase/decrease) or be able to enter an arbitrary number?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Paul Baker
    Propeller Applications Engineer

Parallax, Inc.
  • BTXBTX Posts: 674
    edited 2008-09-23 00:33
    Sorry for OT, but....
    Paul and crazyideas, let me know if you need Spanish assistant.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Regards.

Alberto.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-23 01:48
    You need to modify your keyboard routine so it checks for specific characters and changes your variable like:
    ' Here the new input character is in the variable called K
       ' This code is in a REPEAT loop after reading a key from the keyboard
       IF K == "+"
          myValue := myValue + 1
       ELSEIF K == "-"
          myValue := myValue - 1
       ELSE
          ' It's not a key that's recognised
          ' You could display an error message
          ' or just ignore the key

edited 2008-09-23 03:24
    Another option when you have several different variables is to use a letter to specify which variable you want to control.
    If you store 12 variables in an array, you could use the letters "a" through "l" for the 12 variables. The next "+" or "-"