Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
VT100 terminal plugin for the GEAR emulator — Parallax Forums

VT100 terminal plugin for the GEAR emulator

Marc GebauerMarc Gebauer Posts: 60
edited 2008-10-17 15:46 in Propeller 1
I have been getting familiar with the Gear Emulator; very nice. I wanted to know if anyone has made a VT00 terminal plugin for Gear. It seems that this would be a much faster way of displaying text rather than sending text to the vgamonitor or television plugin. If one does not already exsist, I am interested in giving it a try. But... I don't know where to start. I have written assembly language serial rx and tx routines, and they work so I'd say I have a fair knowledge of asynchronous serial. I have some knowledge of C, have not played with C#, and I have not written anything with a GUI except in VB. So far I have been trying to add a text label or textbox to my plugin but no luck.

10/07/08 - Uploaded Terminal.xml.

The serial UART reciever works reliably up to 230400 BAUD, maybe faster with a non-standard baudrate.
The serial UART transmitter works reliably up to 115200 BAUD and 160000 non-standard BUAD.
(tests were done with FullDuplexSerial driver)

The Terminal screen Word Wraps and Scrolls text and supports the following VT-100 control codes:
Carriage Return, Linefeed, Backspace, Tab,
Clear Screen, Clear Screen from cursor down, Clear Screen from cursor up,
Clear entire Line, Clear Line from cursor right, Clear Line from cursor left,
Home cursor, Move cursor to screen location (row, column).

The text entry box supports sending text and hex values. A hex value is sent by using the format $nn. For example $0d sends a carriage return. If you want to send a $ the use $$.

10/17/08 -·Gear's R & S action keys now blocked while using Terminal Text entry box. Thanks Mirror. Terminal.xml requires Gear V08_10_16 or later http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=701256

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔