Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Question about whether to buy the Educational Kit or the Hydra Kit — Parallax Forums

Question about whether to buy the Educational Kit or the Hydra Kit

SamMishalSamMishal Posts: 468
edited 2008-09-13 09:02 in Propeller 1
Hi All,

I know nothing smurf.gif about the Propeller chip or the Hydra system and I want to learn about it.

My question is if I buy the Hydra Kit would I be able to use it to do the learning about the
propeller or would I be better off buying the Propeller Educational kit?

I want to get into the Hydra eventually, so I want to save money and buy the Hydra
kit instead of the Educational kit then the Hydra kit.

My concern is that the Hydra may not be suitable for learning about the propeller.
My idea is to buy the hydra and download the education kit's manual and do the
learning using the Hydra kit, then when I know more about the propeller proceed with
the Hydra aspect..... can I do this???

I am new to the propeller not programming or microcontrollers I am experienced in both
aspects and wish to experience the propeller since it seems like a GREAT IDEA and
the multi processor aspect of it intrigues me.

This brings me to my second question.....Am I right in assuming that the Propeller
chip is a multiprocessor chip? Can it do parallel tasking? for example can I have one
Cog monitoring a quadrature system, writing its data to the ram, while another Cog
can be doing PWM control based on data in another area of the RAM and a third Cog
doing coordination of the two????? That would be REVOLUTIONARY·if true.......

Regards

Samuel

Post Edited (SamMishal) : 9/10/2008 11:26:55 AM GMT

Comments

• Roy ElthamRoy Eltham Posts: 3,000
    edited 2008-09-10 09:28
    I am learning the Propeller chip using a Hydra. I think it is a fine path to take to learn about the chip.

As for your last set of questions, yes you could have cogs doing different things like that.
  • Graham StablerGraham Stabler Posts: 2,510