Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Assembly language help?? — Parallax Forums

Assembly language help??

SiriSiri Posts: 220
edited 2008-09-10 23:10 in Propeller 1
I am learning PASAM and have no previous experience with any machine languages.I have some experience with PBASIC and SPIN.
I have read both D'Silva's and Potatoheads - PASAM beginner literature and also most of the other available
material.
It would be very helpful if some one would explain in detail how the following code works - one step at a time
specially when the instruction is follwed by few conditions - that changes the original value.

Please explain this code as much detail as possible:

"Assembly language serial driver"

··················· ORG······················· 'no need to explain this

entry··········· mov··· t1,par
·················· add··· t1,#4· << 2

················· rdlong·· t2,t1
··················mov····· rxmask,#1
················· shl······· rxmask,t2················ ' I understand "masking"·I wan't to understand what is the logic

················ add······t1,#4
················ rdlong·· t2,t1
················ mov····· txmask,#1
·················shl······· txmask,t2

t1··········· res·· 1
t2··········· res··· 1

rxmask····· res··· 1
txmask····· res··· 1

Thank you.

Siri

Comments

• TimmooreTimmoore Posts: 1,031
    edited 2008-09-09 17:35
    Added additional comments to the code below
    Siri said...
    I am learning PASAM and have no previous experience with any machine languages.I have some experience with PBASIC and SPIN.
    I have read both D'Silva's and Potatoheads - PASAM beginner literature and also most of the other available
    material.
    It would be very helpful if some one would explain in detail how the following code works - one step at a time
    specially when the instruction is follwed by few conditions - that changes the original value.

Please explain this code as much detail as possible:

"Assembly language serial driver"