Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Interaction between cogs? — Parallax Forums

Interaction between cogs?

port513port513 Posts: 50
edited 2008-09-10 11:30 in Propeller 1
First of all, I'm new to this!

Is there a way to have cog1 to read temperatures etc and then pass this information to cog2 without using a public variable etc?

/Henke

Comments

• AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2008-09-09 09:27
    Short: No.
    Long: there is no communication other than shared memory (HUB memory) between the cogs. You may use some external device (memory) that both can use... but it may be too complicated. A shared portion of HUB ram can be easily used for both cogs using the PAR register to pass the address. Simple semaphores can be implemented using the lock instructions... but variables... no.
    I thought for a project that would read an external memory that 4 cogs read simultaneously and process the data the 4 of them at the same time. That way the work could be balanced (shared for better use of cog ram).
  • heaterheater Posts: 3,370
    edited 2008-09-09 10:06
    Longer: Yes. I believe you can transmit data serially or in parallel by outputting to pins on one COG and reading those pins on another COG. I have never tried this.

May be a tad faster than using hub RAM in some circumstances for example just setting a synchronization flag. Wastes pins of course.

One could set up a "covert" serial channel by setting and unsetting a lock with with some clever timing (or use multiple locks for parallel) but that would be just weird.

Weirder still: You could modulate data on to the system clock mode using CLKSET.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    For me, the past is not over yet.
  • hippyhippy Posts: 1,981
    edited 2008-09-09 10:18
    Question : Port B ( DIRB, OUTB, INB ) ... how are these wired in chip or are they not ?
    edited 2008-09-09 10:33
    "Question : Port B ( DIRB, OUTB, INB ) ... how are these wired in chip or are they not ?"