Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help regarding memory access — Parallax Forums

Need help regarding memory access

Deathwing61Deathwing61 Posts: 5
edited 2008-09-11 16:39 in General Discussion
Not really sure where to go with my problem so i thought i would come here ha...

My situation is this. i have an old digital camera that i would like to hook to a robot but i would rather not have to program it to navigate through menus and settings through the buttons in order to pick settings/shoot modes etc. i would rather it be able to call for these modes directly.

The solution that i see is to access the firmware in the camera and change it as needed to allow a program i write to activate the different settings.
is the the best/easiest solution? if so how do i download the firmware and edit it. if not what would be best
(i have data sheets for the two different memory IC's in the camera)

or if you know of a place/forum where i could go that is better suited for answering that would be great.

Comments

  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-09 12:49
    The firmware is likely not to be in the memory ICs. These would be used for the picture information. The firmware would be in the microcontroller chip and probably (deliberately) impossible to get out without very expensive and complex equipment.
  • LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2008-09-10 08:21
    As with much of hacking, the barrier lies with the manufacturer trying to make the user dependent on purchasing their products for any and all enhancements. The electronics world would be a lot more fun and interesting if everyone shared open access to firmware code and physical wiring. But it appears we are heading in exactly the opposite direction.

    In some cases, you can simplify your task and use a device quite well. In this case, try to figure out which setting are most useful and provide them manually. I have a box that holds my digital camera and uses a BasicStamp with a servo to snap the picture. It is very simple and it merely allows me to set a cycle of how often the photos are taken. I can also include a light sensor so that it turns off during the night or periods of poor lighting to conserve further batteries.

    This might be a better approach if the manufacturer won't share its trade secrets.

    Of course, every now and then a manufacturer will provide a product that is open architecture and these become hugely popular. You might look for such a camera.

    Right now I am playing with an Asus WL500-gP Wireless Router that the firmware can be completely replaced with Linux. It is really a joy when these devices sudden appear. For less than $100USD, I got a router that can do backflips usually supported by a $600 device. I can even have a USB hard disk connected and create a website that is up 24/7.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    It's sunny and warm here. It is always sunny and warm here.... (unless a typhoon blows through).

    Tropically, G. Herzog [noparse][[/noparse] 黃鶴 ] in Taiwan
  • Deathwing61Deathwing61 Posts: 5
    edited 2008-09-10 18:19
    so the best thing to do is probably set it to what i want and then wire the power and capture buttons to the microcontroller because the only other chip has all its leads under it.
    alrighty, thanks for the response.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-10 18:53
    Unless you know how the power and capture buttons are wired (switch closure to ground or to + or whatever), you would be better off using a reed relay so you still have an isolated switch closure. If you know the switch closures are to ground you could use a switching transistor. If you know they provide logic inputs, you might be able to connect directly to an I/O pin. You might be able to use an optoisolator as well, but the safest is a simple reed relay. You can drive a typical 5V coil reed relay directly from a Stamp I/O pin (as long as you have a reverse connected diode in parallel with the coil to dissipate the reverse EMF).
  • LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2008-09-11 16:00
    I just used a servo mounted in a box because I can remove the camera and use it for travel. Hacking into switches may end the use of the camera for other purposes.

    One day you might want a different photo project. Years ago I worked on a rock concert with a sound tech that took all his own stereo 3-D photos by building his own mounting bar for two Insta-matic cameras. He used a 1920 viewer and the pictures really were quite good, full color 3-D.

    The same can be done with two digital cameras. Sure it is easier if you have a pair of the same type, but it is not absolute. You just have to have them take the photos at the same time with similar settings and mounted with a proper angle between them.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    It's sunny and warm here. It is always sunny and warm here.... (unless a typhoon blows through).

    Tropically, G. Herzog [noparse][[/noparse] 黃鶴 ] in Taiwan
  • Deathwing61Deathwing61 Posts: 5
    edited 2008-09-11 16:39
    it's an old camera that i've already taken apart as much as i can. i had no intention of needing it again until i saw the idea to mount it to a bot
Sign In or Register to comment.