Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need programming help: video stabilizer — Parallax Forums

Need programming help: video stabilizer

AMG AVAMG AV Posts: 2
edited 2008-10-18 21:41 in BASIC Stamp
I'm ordering the Servo Controller to experiment with some video mounts I use while capturing video from moving platforms including cars, boats, and aircraft.· I've experimented with RC Aircraft gyros (accelerometers) to provide some stabilization of servo based gimbals.· Parallax offers many sensors that may help to provide many levels of stabilization to my camera gimbal but I am not a programmer and would need help getting sensors to communicate with a servo controller.· Need to have very fast response rates to outside influences (pitch,roll,azimuth) in order to counter-control camera gimbal.· I am also not opposed to using other 12v servos outside the normal RC type servos.· Not asking for a freebee here, just some advice and possible income opportunity for an experienced programmer.· more details available for those who might be interested.

aes@mchsi.com
·

Comments

• DJSandbergDJSandberg Posts: 56
    edited 2008-09-09 05:13
    When you say "Very fast response" how do you define that?

Hobbie servos are usually rated by the amount of time it takes to travel 60 degrees. Most take around 0.20 seconds to travel 60 degrees. You can get faster servos, but the fastest I've seen is about 0.10 second for 60 degrees. The other servo rating is torque, usually measured in inch/ounces.

The Basic Stamp needs only a millisecond or two to do most functions. It's the fastest part in the equation.

The slowest part of the process would be getting the reading from the gyro or acclerameter. The easiest is serial communication. It's also the slowest.

So it comes down to: how much mass do you need to move, how far do you have to move it and at what speed?